Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Girl Crush

Leave a comment

I love karaoke. But almost every time you go to karaoke, someone sings the song, “Girl Crush.” Even though it might be well-performed, it is still like, “Again?” But that is not what this blog is about.

I love my girlfriends. My sisters, my adopted sisters, etc.. Girls rock and they are dependable. I recently had the opportunity to participate with the Buffalo Gateway Chorus, and man, what a powerhouse of women. (Isn’t it funny to say man in that sentence?)

There are normally 90 women in that sucker. At Christmas time the number is down to 75 because of all the snowbirds. If I didn’t have to make a weekly commitment, I would so join them in a heartbeat. It is all upbeat energy and positive stuff. (Now, women are women. I’m realistic. Is there some bitchiness here and there? Well, of course!) What they do at Christmastime is allow guests to come in. You only have to go to two rehearsals, and then you can join their holiday show. What a total blast.

One of the rehearsals, a guest came in to thank the group for their generosity. They had caught wind of a female teacher in a more poverty-stricken area. She had a terrible problem with attendance because the girls often didn’t have shampoo or deodorant. The embarrassment only triples when they have their period and don’t have feminine products. So in walks one of the members with several enormous bags of supplies. Girls helping girls. Love that stuff.

I saw them perform in September and my jaw remained on the floor the entire show. They are all a capella music, and compete internationally. I could see why they always place well. They are incredibly talented, with women of all ages in the group. The director totally stood out to me. (I told my friend who is a member that she needs to party poolside with us next summer so the invitation has already been extended!) I have since found out she is 64 years old, is quite attractive and charismatic. I didn’t take my eyes off of her very often. And every once in a while she turns around during the song and sings to the audience as well. She just blends in with the group. Just not an ego in sight.

After working with the group, I realized she is definitely a powerhouse. I wouldn’t want to piss her off because I’m sure she could take me out if necessary. Her directing talent was astounding. I’ve been a musician since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. She was teaching us things I had never heard before and I was amazed by it. And a super great sense of humor too.

As the 12 hour day went on for the performance day, I came to a realization that came out in my out-loud voice. Oh my God! I have a girl crush! It was the only way I could explain it. I find her to have a terribly attractive personality and I just wanted to be around her. There were a couple of times we exchanged conversation and I was so excited that she acknowledged me. Later, she popped up on Facebook and I got brave and friend requested her. To my delight, she accepted. As a musician, she also gave me a compliment that I was deeply grateful for. She said she could tell that I “get it”- meaning the concept of the importance of excellence and the pride that comes with it.

I was telling my friends Nina and Mike about the weekend at separate times and they both laughed at me. They said I sounded like a school girl and I was like, “I know, right?” Anyhow, my humble thanks to Diane and the Buffalo Gateway Chorus for a very special experience.

I am ending this was a photo of several of us. One of the requirements was to wear bright red lipstick. We called it the stripper lips. So we gave our best stripper pucker for this photo. Merry Christmas to everyone!
fb_img_1480788948040

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

