Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

The Old Man is Snoring…

3 Comments

It’s raining, it’s pouring… Both literally and figuratively.

It’s been quite a week. Last Friday, I was talking to my dad who was experiencing some bleeding. I could tell by his voice and his willingness to go to an urgent care center that it was a significant amount and he was scared. Sister Renee took him. I had tickets to the theater. (Jekyll and Hyde the musical at the Lancaster Opera House. You should go if you can. Absolutely phenomenal show.) I got a call that the doc was concerned about the amount of blood loss and wanted to send him by ambulance to the hospital.

I didn’t get there until after 11 pm. He was still in the ER but was preparing to move to a room. A little after midnight, Renee and I left once he was settled. My brother, Renee, and I all took turns each day staying with him. I am the primary health advocate though so I usually ask all the questions. On Saturday, they did a scope procedure on his esophagus. The doc came out and gave me the beautiful color photographs. Of course, I had no idea what I was even looking at. What I did understand, was there was not even a drop of blood. That meant starting prep for a colonoscopy the next morning. If you have ever had one, you know that is a nightmare.

I had to leave in the evening because Frankie had his first hockey scrimmage of the year. Colin tells me he’s the best player on the team this year so he’s going to shine. It’s at a college downtown so I drive us all there. Frankie started the game, and not even 30 seconds in to the first period, he gets checked. I mean, he gets checked hard. I mean, like the parents all went “ooo” when it happened. I joked with my friend that I might have to find that kid who messed with my son and kick his butt. It wasn’t a dirty hit, but Frankie went down flat. He got off the ice.

A few minutes later I realized he didn’t return to the ice. Frankie is a total toughie. He doesn’t complain about pain and I never even know he is hurt usually until I find the ice pack somewhere in the house. I texted Colin and asked if he thought Frankie was ok. Colin was already walking over to me. He said something was wrong and I needed to go over to the bench. I did, and my toughie said that yes, he thought we should go to the hospital. It is not an easy task to walk across benches and the distance of an ice rink with only one leg so Colin ended up hoisting Frankie over his shoulders. I took a picture but they said they would curse me if I posted it. Anyhow, we spend the next four and a half hours at Children’s hospital. Several x-rays later, they determined no break, but a sprain above the ankle. Crutches for a week then re-evaluation. I probably told 20 medical people about how the first 30 seconds of the first game of the season, blah blah. Poor kid. Thankfully, Renee said she would sleep at the hospital with Dad so I didn’t have to return. Got home about 1 am.

By Monday, Dad had a transfusion and they were hopeful that the bleeding had stopped. Renee came in to take over for me, and a few minutes after getting there did the most bizarre side step I had ever seen. I managed to catch her before she hit the floor. I got her to the chair and she slumped to one side. The hospital staff was most impressive. Within two minutes there were about 8-10 people there to assess what was happening. It sure looked like a stroke. Her BP was 202. They took her down to emergency and tested her brain and heart. Until her family was able to get there, I just ran between the floors of ER and Dad’s room, depending on who seemed to need me more. Renee was released without an explanation of why she had such an episode. What’s up with this? Three of my family members in the hospital within four days.

Tuesday, sister Janet flew in from Tennessee. Phew. Renee was going to meet us at the hospital, but I got a call and then a text from her. She fell again, this time in her house. I encouraged her to go to another hospital by ambulance, but she decided to stay home. I think they should check her ears for crystal formations. I didn’t think of it at the time because it looked like a stroke. I haven’t checked in with her today, but I hope she is feeling ok. She really can’t drive or even walk. I’m afraid next time she will crack her head open!

Yesterday Janet stayed with Dad the whole day. She spent the night before there with him and I got to stay home the whole day. (Well, that’s not true. I had to give a 90 minute lecture, but I didn’t have to go back and forth to the hospital.) I was nervous about not going because Dad was supposed to be released to rehab. I wanted to be there for the transition but I also knew Janet could handle it. I also have a son on crutches who doesn’t think they are nearly as much fun as he thought they were going to be. I also woke up with a massive cold so my head felt like a balloon.

Unfortunately, Dad never made it to rehab. His blood levels dropped again. Has to stay for another procedure, and hopefully this time they will be able to stop the bleeding for good. Poor guy. So, I’m off to the hospital as soon as I post this blog. Any day where I only have one hospital to go to is a good one, lol. I heard “when it rains, it pours” so many times this week, I knew what the blog title was going to be.

To end on a positive note, if you follow my blog you know I am a tough customer when it comes to medical care. There have been some moments where I wanted to hit my head on the wall, but the vast majority of time, I have to say I was terribly impressed by both hospitals this weekend. I kept thinking about how exhausted I was, but if I had to be in fight mood because my peeps weren’t getting good care, well that would have just pushed me right over the edge of the cliff. I am grateful and also hopeful that there are some shifts happening in the medical field that are positive!

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “The Old Man is Snoring…

  1. Praying for everyone. Please give my love to the family. BGH/Gates Vascular for your sister…they finally took care of my diagnosis! Love u all.

  2. What a week! Keeping all if you in our prayers❣

  3. Hope things are looking up for all!!! gloria

Leave a Reply

