Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Intensity

6 Comments

There are some things I’ve heard on and off for most of my life- from family, friends, males, females, etc.. I am pretty good for the most part at accepting the reality of who I am- the good and the bad. But even when you have accepted certain things, there are still times when you heave a heavy sigh because you get tired of the same ‘ol, same ‘ol. Here we go again.

What kinds of things am I referring to? Well, let me see. I am intense. I have a very complicated life. I have a very busy life. There is a fair amount of stress in my life. I’ve made very noticeable changes in my life and things are much more manageable than they used to be. But life is dynamic and sometimes you are caught in a whirlwind for a while again because life isn’t always conveniently packaged the way we would like it to be. And even when I am managing and juggling things ok, my life can be overwhelming for OTHER people. I get it. I truly do. But I also want to say, if it sounds overwhelming to you, how do you think it feels for me?

I’m resourceful and capable. I have surrounded myself with amazing family and friends that I can count on. I’m not alone in that sense. Nevertheless, life is full of challenges.

When new people come along, it seems to me like they have a few options with how to incorporate me into their life. After the initial honeymoon period of a new friendship or relationship, you get to know each other on deeper levels. (True of romantic relationships, or any other type of friendship as well.)

Here’s how I see it, written from the other person’s perspective.

Option 1: My life is far less complicated. I like it that way. I like you. I care about you. But I do not want a steady diet of the complicated life that you seem to live. It just isn’t a good fit for me.

Response: I get it. I truly do. Having learned to relax and slow down more, I understand these kinds of people much better than I used to. No matter how much you like someone, sometimes it’s just not a good fit. My lifestyle is not meant for everyone. It just isn’t.

Option 2: My life is less complicated. I like you. But I’m a bit overwhelmed with all you are juggling. I think I need to get to know you at a much slower level. Maybe we can talk just a bit about one or two aspects of your life, but let me slowly digest those and save the rest for later.

Response: I get it. It is harder for me to do, but I can do it when I am aware that I need to. I have tons of support in my life and there is plenty of stories in my life to go around (lol). My tolerance level for my own stuff as well as most people around me (personally and professionally) is extraordinarily high. So I just need to be intentional about holding back because most people aren’t like me. There is some risk involved because that other person may never be able to fully engage with me. But if there appears to be potential, then it’s worth the risk.

Option 3: I’m in. I hear about what you do every day and I am amazed. I see your strength. I can’t help with all you are dealing with, but I can listen and I can admire your tenacity. I get that your intensity is high because your love for people is high. I see you are committed to your family and friends with all your heart. You try to be balanced, but your highest value is other human souls. And sometimes that can be demanding. But overall? I recognize that means you will also value and be committed to me. You will be there in my time of need. You will care deeply and I will be a better human being for it.

Response: Phew. That’s my dream. I’ve never experienced it yet, but I secretly hope that someday I will. My virtues are also my vices. But honestly? I’m proud of my values. I’m pleased that I don’t take the easy way out, even though it might make my life less stressful and complicated. Some days, I get great feedback. Some days, I have to give it to myself. You know what Darcy, you are a good daughter. A good mother. A good step mother. A good grandma. A good sister. A good friend. I sure as hell am not perfect. I sure as hell take on too much sometimes. But I’d rather err on the side of loving too much than turning my back on what I know needs to be done.

Summary? Option one doesn’t work. Option two is workable. Option three is a pipe dream. Probably most of my energy in my life will have to focus on option two. And that’s ok.

That old girl scout song comes to mind. “Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other gold.” I am an incredibly lucky and blessed woman in that I have some very long time friends and family in my life that get me. My therapist has been in my life for over 15 years and he is one of my biggest cheerleaders. And yes, I am even learning how to support myself. I’m not perfect, but I love hard and I work on myself every day.

That’s a pretty good life!

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “Intensity

  1. ♡ love you!

  2. Darcy, I am option 2, my pipedream is that we can GROW into option 3 over time…

  3. I do LOVE you woman… Wish I had said it sooner…

  4. Not being able to talk to you is “torture” for me and if this is how it’s going to be then i’m out. I asked you to be patient with me as i too have been thur alot. I asked you to NOT QUIT on me yet here i am… Without you…

Leave a Reply

