Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Clever Forgetting

4 Comments

My friend Summer is NOT a morning person. When I say that, I mean she really is NOT a morning person. She had a rare occasion today where she had to be what she calls awake “ugly early” and wanted to know if I would meet her for breakfast. I agreed, especially because “ugly early” is the norm for me because of Frankie getting up for school.

I texted her because I had a $5 off coupon at a different restaurant than we had planned. She called to get the location and I answered and said, “Good timing.” I had just walked back in the house after driving Frankie to school. Her response? “No, this is not good timing. This is a filthy time of the morning to be up.” Yep, that’s Summer at 8 AM.

I get to the restaurant before her, and I realize in the parking lot that I walked out with my phone and the car keys. No purse. The coupons are kept in the car so I have that. If I went back home to get my purse, Summer would be waiting. I’m talking to my friend on the phone and he laughs at me. How many times have I pulled that one on Summer? He says that because I have often not brought my purse when we run errands together. Oops.

I break the news to Summer when she pulled in. Can you buy? I’m an idiot. She rolls her eyes at me and says I have a clever way of getting people to buy me breakfast. I remind her that it’s like I’m contributing $5 because of the coupon. That makes me feel a little better.

We sit down and I realize that I also down’t have my cheater glasses. They are in my purse. Duh. We are looking at the menu and the waitress takes my coupon. You can’t use this coupon until after 4 PM. Now you have to understand, this is a pancake house. It’s a breakfast restaurant. Who the heck would expect a coupon for there that can’t be used until night time? And of course, this is NOT the age of customer service. She wouldn’t let us use it anyway. So we got up and left. I hope they were proud of sticking to their guns. They made no sale at all.

We went to the original place we were supposed to go. Good ‘ol Denny’s. Much more reasonable prices. Of course, it didn’t really matter to me. I didn’t pay anyway. No coupon contribution either. A couple of cups of coffee and hours later, we stop to see some friends who were also there. I told them my story and asked if I looked sincere when I said I “forgot” my purse. They told me I should blog about poor Summer and how I took advantage of her. So I did.

Thanks for breakfast, Summer. I PROMISE, I will buy next time!

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Clever Forgetting

  1. loved this!! could you send me Stefs email address. I sent her a card but it came back’ TY

  2. it’s a good thing you are so adorable, Darcy! ; )

  3. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 01/28/16 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

