Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Dimes From Heaven

4 Comments

Happy New Year!

The day after Christmas, Matthew’s wife went into labor. At eleven minutes after midnight, my beautiful granddaughter was born.20141227_003136

I was honored to be there for it. I was reminded again that women’s bodies are AMAZING. A birth truly is nothing short of a miracle.

Matthew and his wife, Sherry have a special bond. He had just starting dating her when he lost his dad. She had already lost her mom a few years earlier. He often talks about how Sherry has helped him navigate through his loss, being the veteran that she is.

I don’t know Sherry or her family very well. But I did catch wind of the fact that the family believes when they find a dime, they know their mom is showing her presence with them. I have no idea how that got started, but I know they believe it with all their hearts.

If you were to look through Matthew and Sherry’s wedding album, you will see a photo of a dime. When Sherry and the girls were at the wedding site getting dressed, a single dime was found on the floor. The photographer was made aware of the significance and took a picture. I thought it was a lovely story, but probably somewhere inside I was skeptical. A dime is kind of common, right? Although it is not so common to find one in a fancy dressing room.

Anyhow, after the delivery of my beautiful granddaughter, Sherry’s sister and I decided it was time to go home. It was about 1:30 AM and we were tuckered out. Granted, Sherry did all the work but somehow we were also tired. We left together so we wouldn’t have to walk in the parking lot alone.

After getting to the lobby floor, we started to walk toward the door. There on the floor, was one solitary dime. Shinier than any I have ever seen.20141227_011512

Now I no longer even have a tiny ounce of skepticism. I had goose bumps from head to toe. We took a picture and texted Matthew. Her sister wanted to take the dime upstairs so we went back up. While she shared the special moment, I stood in the hall and told the nurses the story. I think they had goose bumps as well.

One shiny dime. A gift greater than a million dollars.

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

4 thoughts on “Dimes From Heaven

  1. This is more like it ! Love Jerry

  2. hi Darcy! Happy new year! We opted for a quiet family night this year but hope to have another crazy party next year😀. I have heard of this phenomenon before ….and I have to say that I really think there is something to
    It. I was skeptical when I heard about it from others, but since my dad died I have begun to find dimes in some very unlikely places. Sometimes I pick them up, sometimes I leave them there….but every single time I say “hi dad” and I smile. I often wonder why it is always dimes, and where this phenomenon originated…but decided I will just let it be one of those unsolved mysterys and enjoy it. Hope you are doing well . I enjoy keeping up with your blog 😀. Best, Marla (Karen price’s friend)

  3. Loved hearing from you!! Thanks for following and taking the time to write… we must do another fun party soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

