Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Snow and Sports, Part 2

2 Comments

“Just have to ask the question. You own a business and I’m sure you weren’t sitting back hoping someone would find people to come and dig you out correct? The Bills are a business, and if you think they, the corner bar, or Walmart are going to wait for the snow to disappear so they can resume business that’s crazy. This was a business decision by a very successful business man. We all know that when Buffalo has a storm like this, they pick themselves up, brush it off, and move on. This is a big sports town so I’m sure the majority of people were happy to see this progress”

This comment was made on my post from last week. While I welcome divergent opinions, this one inspired some more thoughts. So thanks for the inspiration, Steve.

First, it made me question my ability as a writer because I had to wonder how my point got missed. I will try again.

When you talk about any concept, there are complexities and it is impossible to cover all of them. But I think it is ok to talk in generalities to get the overarching point across.

I think there is something wrong when “successful business” practice involves ignoring much larger values. When “resuming business” (which is mostly about making money) puts human lives at stake, I have a problem with that. THERE WAS A DRIVING BAN. And the driving ban was in place because it was dangerous to be out on the road. People were actually buried alive out there. Literally.

Secondly, it is my personal opinion, that when it comes to priorities, there were much more serious and valuable reasons to enlist people’s help than a football game. It was in poor taste. Based on the official statements made by some of our executives, I think they agreed.

Yes, I own a business. Let me remind you what that means. No sick days, no personal days, no vacation days. Just a week of lost income. An entire week. That comes during a year when I had $5,000 stolen from my home. And I am always a single mom trying to manage it all.

At one time you knew me very well, Steve. You would also know that I would have NEVER asked anyone to help me “resume business” at any risk to themselves. Ever. And once we were able to clean up here, it was a community effort. I was just as worried about my neighbors and we all worked together. My step-son and I reached out to help others who were sick and everyone else as well. And they helped us.

One of my friends shoveled for five days at his place of employment, then came to my house and helped me shovel my roof. After we were done, his hands were literally shaking from fatigue. He struggles to make ends meet every day of his life. If anyone needs money, he does. But when he was finished with his work shifts, I guarantee you his choice would not have been to pick up more hours shoveling out the stadium. His choice was to help a friend in need.

Your comments were exactly my point. Thank God a lot of people disagree with you. There are a lot more important things in life than taking care of your self. Especially when you are billion dollar industry and could actually afford to think of other people. Big f*****g deal that he’s a successful business man. By your definition, I would happily be a failure.

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Snow and Sports, Part 2

  1. ❤ you, Darcy!

  2. Priorities seem to be a forgotten thing. Perhaps they always have been and I was too stupid to notice. I hope the bills win made everyone happy. I’m sure it was satisfying to those who died last week; including their family and friends. Everything about this game being played was in poor taste. It started with the request for assistance from local law enforcement (being pulled from the streets) When denied, the background tantrum began and all the toys were gathered; running off to another playground to satisfy a need for greed and feeling of ultra superiority.

    The classy thing to do would have been a voluntary forfeit, if the league was too full of itself to not allow a postponement. Shame on those who traveled there to cheer and play.

Leave a Reply

