Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Snow and Sports

5 Comments

How ironic that last week my son “blogged” about the importance of football. Today I am going to blog about how ridiculous it is that sports carry as much importance as they do.

First, let me say that we are in West Seneca and are in the eye of the latest snow storm. A picture is worth a thousand words. 20141119_084220

That is my backyard. The fence is about five feet and the snow is almost at the top. Here is another one.20141118_084421

That little black dot is the mirror of our car. We are still not dug out from that. And if the outside perils aren’t enough to deal with, this is my favorite picture of all.20141119_082508

That, my friends, is my kitchen ceiling. The bathroom, basement and upstairs bedroom also have water damage.

My neighbor across the street has been laid up for five weeks after knee surgery. Two houses down, my neighbor is very sick with his third bout of cancer. And about 10 minutes away, my daughter-in-law is on bed rest with a high-risk pregnancy. She has been hospitalized several times. I am praying my heart out that nothing happens while she is unable to get to an emergency room if needed. I will take my problems any day.

But what is my point?

Tuesday, the Sabres decided not to cancel their game. I guess the show must go on. They put a sentence or two on their website telling fans to respect the driving bans in their neighborhood. I thought it was a poor decision, but didn’t dwell on it.

But then yesterday, I heard the Bills were offering to pay people to shovel their stadium for the game on Sunday. I went ballistic. What the hell is wrong with the priorities of our society? There is a damn driving ban in Orchard Park (where the stadium is). Are they kidding? How about they get people together to help dig out the people who are stranded? Especially those with medical issues! The football stadium? They are ticketing people out on the roads. I AM TOTALLY DISGUSTED.

Now I will really go out on a limb here and risk pissing people off. I’m pretty liberally minded, but how about some common sense? How about using the prison inmates to do some shoveling? Or even some welfare and unemployed folks who are physically able to work? There are so many areas that have zero snow, or barely a dusting. So let’s gather them and help each other out. But not to shovel out the stadium. Let’s get our priorities straight people!

Ok, I am going back to my shovel now… lol. Really not trying to offend anyone, but some things just have to be said.

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “Snow and Sports

  1. Hi,

    I couldn’t agree more on your post. Safety first, sports second.

    Did you have a bad seal on a toilet above your kitchen ceiling that might have lead to a leak in the ceiling below?

    I was telling my son about it this morning and he wondered if it was a bad seal.

    I am so glad Tim checked my vent last night. I was very concerned about that. He worked very hard for everybody yesterday and did it with a smile. When he stopped last night he looked like a snow man.

    He is a good guy,

    hugs! Sherry

  2. Amen! We are so sorry about the water damage. Let us know what you need. ❤

  3. You are right on about the stadium. I hope things are better around your house. I have been keeping your D-I-L in prayers1

  4. How are you doing out there Darci? Hope you , your family and neighbors are ok xo rose

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Just have to ask the question. You own a business and I’m sure you weren’t sitting back hoping someone would find people to come and dig you out correct? The Bills are a business, and if you think they, the corner bar, or Walmart are going to wait for the snow to disappear so they can resume business that’s crazy. This was a business decision by a very successful business man. We all know that when Buffalo has a storm like this, they pick themselves up, brush it off, and move on. This is a big sports town so I’m sure the majority of people were happy to see this progress

Leave a Reply

