Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Dying, Not Dead

3 Comments

I went through the McDonald’s drive-thru to get my 54 cent ice cream cone. The kid on the speaker was exceptionally friendly and pleasant. When I got to the first window, I asked if he was the guy that took my order. Yes, he was. I told him how nice it was to be treated in such a friendly manner and he grinned from ear to ear. He told me he tries to make a difference every day. He said about once a month or so, someone makes a comment like I did and it makes his day.

I chuckled and told him about the blog I wrote entitled “Customer Service is Dead.” He asked for the web address. Then he asked me to promise him I would write an update and let everyone know there is hope in the world. I gave him my word.

I drove to the next window to get my ice cream and asked for the manager. She walked over with that look on her face. You know the one. “Now what the hell happened?” I told her the boy at the first window was fantastic and again I saw a grin from ear to ear. She said they love him there. He’s a great kid. Very active in his church, pleasant, helps people all the time. Then she said, “You know, there isn’t much customer service to be found these days.” So I told her about my blog too.

So here you are, young boy who brings hope to the world. If you actually read this, please send me a comment.

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Dying, Not Dead

  1. I would love to get his resume!!! NO ONE knows what a simple smile or kind word can do to a person’s day, or what chain of events it will spark. GREAT POST.

  2. Hi! I am the boy at the speaker! I read your comment and am so grateful that you posted:) it means the world to me that you are using this blog to make a difference in the world. The reason for my joy and happiness is my Christian faith! I am joyful for what Jesus did for me so I do my best to bring that joy to the world! I will be praying that many people are touched by this website and thank you again for what you are doing to make the world a better place:)

    God bless!

    Sincerely,
    The boy at the speaker, Scott

  3. Scott- you made my day!!
    thanks for reading and commenting!!
    Keep on brightening your corner of the world….

Leave a Reply

