Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Journey

2 Comments

Even though I’m a trained musician, I’m a big nerd when it comes to music. I know songs, but I don’t know the group that sings them. I might not the name of a music group, but I won’t know the names of the singers in the group. And I rarely listen to anything current so I’m massively outdated.

When I sing at Karoake, I don’t sing anything current. How could I? I don’t know anything.

When my friend asked me if I wanted to go see Journey and The Steve Miller Band this week, I jumped at the chance. I haven’t been to many concerts in my life. In high school, I saw Robert Plant from Led Zeppelin. (Hey! That’s one name I actually know!) Later in life I saw Billy Joel. When Tim was sick I flew to Chicago to see Carole King and James Taylor.

I was getting ready to go to the concert on Tuesday and told Colin about it. I told him I had no idea what The Steve Miller Band played but he told me I would recognize a bunch of songs once I got there. He was right, I did.

I haven’t been to many concerts so I can’t compare. But I had the time of my life. After I got over the shock of having to pay $11 for a single beer, the rest of the night was easy.

Of course, I can’t shut off my sociology mind, even if I want to. I found it fascinating (and fun) how you can interact with total strangers because you are connecting at some event. I mean we were high-fiving and yelling at the top of our lungs, acting like we were all best friends. Then the last encore is over and everyone walks quickly to their car without even a backward glance. Not even a goodbye. Cracked me up. Good fun.

There were some of those not so shining moments. One of the guys in our row (of course, even with how “close” we all were, I didn’t even know his first name) leaned over to yell something and poked me in the forehead. Even broke the skin. He gave me a slurred apology, but I still have a small mark in case I forget the great time I had there.

A while later, I was standing with both hands high in the air singing at the top of my lungs. I was holding that 11 dollar beer in one of my hands when suddenly, SWOOSH! It was gone. In a flash. Same nameless forehead poker wacked my beer out of hands and sent it sailing down the row. I got another slurred apology. I looked around and saw some people looking shocked at the spilled beer on them and asking each other where the heck it came from. I yelled down to them and apologized. But you know how friendly concert folk are. The lady gave it back to me because it wasn’t empty. Hell yeah, I drank it! That damn thing cost 11 bucks!

Mostly, it was just a blast to know all those songs and remember what it was like when I was young and listening to them. I was saying that Frankie even knows a lot of Journey songs. The guy ahead of me asked me how I got him into it because he couldn’t get his seven year old daughter to get into it. I told him Frankie hears it in school during gym class. I am quite positive if he knew how much I loved them, he wouldn’t have gotten into it so much…lol!

Great night. Singing “Open Arms” and “Don’t Stop Believing” along with dozens of other songs was just a blast. So next time you want to go to a great concert, don’t forget to invite me! (P.S. I will let you pay for the beer!)

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Journey

  1. 🙂 One of my high school friends asked last night, “What songs remind you of our high school days?” Several Journey titles were mentioned! I saw them at The Aud in 1981 and Bryan Adams opened for them; we sat in the oranges! Glad you had a great time!

  2. So glad to hear positive fun for you!!!

Leave a Reply

