Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Crab Legs

1 Comment

Dave eating oysters at Myrtle BeachIt’s Thursday. It’s blog day. I’m blank. Brigitte says to take a walk in the sunshine because it will inspire me. I take a walk in the sunshine. I’m still blank.

I say to Frankie, what should I blog about? He says crab legs and clams. He LOVES crab legs and clams. He won’t eat a hamburg like a normal kid, but he loves those slimy seafood. Oysters too. Yuck.

But he got me thinking about things I am crazy about. It is definitely not slimy food. But food in general? Yep, that’s totally me. Love, love, love to eat food.

I’m not a lazy person by any stretch of the imagination. When it comes to food though, I do NOT like to work for my food. Crab legs aren’t slimy, but they are a lot of work. So is lobster. Too much work for me. I want instant gratification. That’s why buffets are NOT good for my waistline.

I was walking in the woods today with Taffy and ran into a woman walking her two dogs. I recognized her but don’t know her name. She tells me how sick she is of the cold and that she has gained six pounds. I laughed and told her I finally weighed myself on Monday and found out I had gained six pounds too. She said she had fifteen to lose BEFORE the winter started. I laughed again and said that I did too. Not that we really thought it was funny, but what are you going to do? Crying is the only other option.

So after the Monday weigh-in shock (although why I was shocked I have no idea), I started to more earnestly try to eat more healthy. I know exactly what to do, I just need to focus and be disciplined.

That’s all it took. Just a mental decision to try to do better. Since then, I have felt hungry all the time. I want to eat constantly. I went and bought fresh fruits and vegetables, but I crave ice cream like I was pregnant or something. Or chips. Or cookies. Or bread. Or any kind of carbs. Or any kind of sugar.

Ridiculous. My jeans are tight. They actually cut into my skin. That’s enough to motivate anyone, right? So I’m going to keep trying. Right after I eat that one ice cream bar that is left in my freezer :).

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Crab Legs

  1. Darcy, stop reading my mind! 😉

Leave a Reply

