Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Surprises

2 Comments

If you have ever struggled with depression, you might understand that guilt is also an emotion you sometimes feel. Frankly, you feel guilty for being depressed. Truth be told, I have very little to be depressed about. I have an amazing life.

Turning 47 last week was great when we did the star thing for Tim. We had about 14 people show up, and then several of us went out to dinner afterward.

As if that wasn’t enough.

Brigette told me about a month ago that the Saturday after my birthday she was taking me out. I wasn’t going to know where, but I was to tell the church that I probably wouldn’t make it to church in the morning.

Frankie had a hockey game at 3:00. One of the things I usually whine about is having to go to games by myself. It’s not so much that it’s awful, but there is something about being around all those families that makes me sad. Colin is always there but he stands at the ice rink and doesn’t interact with me.

I’m pretty slow on the draw these days, so it took me quite a while into the game before I realized that it was no coincidence that so many people came that day to see Frankie’s game. I think there were 14 people there. I finally got that Brigette had arranged it all. My brother even came and he hasn’t come to a hockey game in the four years his nephew has been playing. Only Brigette could pull that one off.

It was amazing. I was so happy for Frankie to see all those people there too. We got in the car and Brigette explained that she wanted to find something meaningful for me and she knows how sad I get when I go to his games alone. I thought it was an excellent surprise. She truly got me, and she knows me well. It was extremely meaningful.

As if that wasn’t enough.

Then she told me she was taking me to dinner. Anyone that knows me, knows that food makes me very happy. We had reservations somewhere at 5:00 but again, I had to wait and see where we were going.

We went to a nearby restaurant and headed to the banquet room. Brigette said she was planning an event for someone else and wanted to check out the room before we ate. Made total sense to me.

Again, 100% shock to walk in and find a room full of people there for a surprise party for me. I could have fallen over. I kept saying, “But I’m only 47” and they all kept saying, “You get nothing when you’re 50 so enjoy it now.” Couldn’t believe it. I was astounded.

As if that wasn’t enough.

Brigette had several of my friends and family who were out of town call throughout the night. They obviously couldn’t make it in person, but they let me know they loved me and wanted to part of the special night.

As if that wasn’t enough.

A few of us then moved upstairs where there was a band playing. It was one of those nights that we were the group everyone was looking at. People- men and women alike- came up and said happy birthday. They bought me drinks. The band sang to me. The band had me come up and sing a chorus with them to a song because they had been told that I sang. And once the guitar player gave me the guitar and I plucked out “Jingle Bells,” the only song I know. Everyone laughed.

It was amazing. Who has friends like that? I do. Lots and lots of them. Trust me. I don’t take them for granted. I know how lucky I am. And I shouldn’t ever feel sad if I could just bask in that love all the time.

But I do struggle with depression. And I do feel it in spite of all that goodness. Today though? Today I choose to just remember the love and the special day and night I had. The day I felt like the luckiest queen in the world! Thanks to all of you…

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “Surprises

  1. WoWI have struggled with depression for the past 15 years. I am a single Mom of 2 children. I know that You have lossbut we ALL have….Lots of Us go to school events, Sports eventsAlone and WISH we had a “Partner” with us. You are so very fortunate to have friends and family who care about you enough to try to make your days better!! You are a very Lucky & Blessed ladyYou DO have an amazing life.

    Date: Thu, 13 Feb 2014 16:40:04 +0000 To: mojojomo1@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

