Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Scheduling Blogging

5 Comments

I schedule everything. I have a calendar in the computer that syncs with my phone. I set everything up with repetitive tasks so I don’t forget things. People think I’m very organized, but mostly it’s that I’m very disciplined. I write everything down so it isn’t overlooked. Of course, I’ve scheduled blogging.

I am “supposed” to blog every Thursday. Why did I pick Thursday? No reason in particular I guess. Monday is the throw back into the school and work week so I figured I would try not to schedule extra things on Mondays. Tuesdays I twitter. Wednesdays I post on Facebook. The next day is Thursday so that became blog day. I write my new book Monday through Saturday, giving myself a day of rest on Sunday.

Sound boring and regimented? It really doesn’t bother me most of the time. My systems work for me. The only problem is, sometimes Thursdays come and I don’t know what to write about. Last week I didn’t blog at all. I added it to my list every day until Monday morning and then I just admitted to myself that I wasn’t going to write this week. After all, it is my own self-imposed list. I can decide not to blog for a week, right?

Now it’s Friday and I didn’t blog yesterday. I had a bad grief day (which honestly hasn’t happened in a while) and just couldn’t do it. So I’m sitting down now to write and realize I have three different topics to write about and can’t decide which one. Last week, nothing. This week I can’t decide. Plus, it occurred to me yesterday, that any week I can’t figure out what to blog about, I should just start cutting and pasting excerpts from my new book. I could get your feedback on my writing.

And then I just started typing and this is what I ended up writing about. None of the three topics I have in my head. No excerpts from the book. Just writing about writing. Not real juicy or meaty this time. Sorry. I don’t know if other authors go through any of this process or it’s just my crazy mind. But it’s what THIS author goes through. Hope I didn’t disappoint you too much this week :).

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “Scheduling Blogging

  1. Like you, I schedule everything, too. I blog Monday, Wednesday and Fridays. I write most of my posts a few weeks in advance to free up my time to do other things–like spend time with the family! The positive part about it is that I don’t have to worry when a blogging day comes because it I’d already written it. The negative part is that sometimes, the post is not relevant to what’s happening in the world–although this happens on the rare occasion. I try to avoid that by shuffling blog posts to see what trends. I works beautifully most of the time.

    Anyway, just wanted to pop in my two cents. Blogging’s fun, but it is a lot of work and when things come up, it can be another thing to add on the list of things to do! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Saturday | JB Marwood

  3. You could never disappoint us, Darcy! We all ❤ you!
    Sorry that you had another bad grief day…next time give me a call.
    Glad you seem to be back to your sweet positive self!

    🙂 Laureen

Leave a Reply

