Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Processing…

1 Comment

Sunday I had a speaking engagement with a very unique group of individuals, then shared a potluck supper with them. The energy was great and the dialogue was flowing.

Monday we went to a spirituality and health type conference. It was our first experience with a conference and we had no idea if it was a good investment of our money and time. I left the house at 7:15 AM and returned home at 5 PM. Again, it turned out to be great. We sold books but also made a boatload of contacts that I think were perfect for us.

Monday night I had clients. Good sessions. I walked in the house and Frankie was already upstairs for the night. I went up and said goodnight and begged him for a hug, which he reluctantly gave me. Then I walked downstairs and collapsed in bed, but I was in tears. And I had no idea why.

Tuesday morning I went to a session with my spiritual director. Just what I needed. I told her the events of the last couple of weeks since I’d seen her. I felt a little out of sorts, but mostly I thought I was just plain exhausted. The cool thing was, that she had attended my talk Sunday night so she had a first-hand view of what I do these days.

It’s always fascinating when I go see her. She was extremely supportive and complimentary about the skills she saw on Sunday. When we started our “work” together, she said the first image that came to mind was that of a big coal stove. She said I’m shoveling coal in it like crazy. I’m working hard and doing a good job. However, the same work could be done by solar energy. Light. Light itself is full or imagery that is endless. As we continued to talk, she said that I need to be vigilant about remembering that my source is The Light, A.K.A. God. I will still be tired at the end of the day, but I need to remember not to rely on my own strength. My work is utimately about being vulnerable. It is good and I am reaching people, but it truly is exhausting. Stay connected to the Solar Energy. She is so very, very wise.

Later that day I got an email from a dear friend of mine and Tim’s. He wanted to know how things were going, but also wanted to tell me how the book launch had impacted him. He was having his own minor symptoms that he had been ignoring. He decided to go to the doc and is now making some necessary changes in his life to take care of some medical issues he is facing. He wanted me to know that he got off his butt and was inspired to take steps after seeing my presentation. I thanked him for letting me know. This was a new type of story and I love hearing about the endless ways that our story is putting positive energy out there for others.

So… moral of the story? It’s good to be tired from a job well done. Stay connected to God and watch the fruits of your labor. It’s worth it!

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Processing…

  1. You and your famliy are always in our prayers, Darcy. God is good…all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

