Help for Healing

Bitter & Sweet, living daily with grief

Mounting Excitement

3 Comments

It’s been quite a week. I’ve written before that I keep trying to be excited but I mostly get terrified. Saturday, the Buffalo News printed an article about the book. I WAS EXCITED!!! The editor said he was having trouble cutting it down because he didn’t have enough space so I was expecting a column. So when I opened it up and there was a full page article and a big picture, I got VERY excited. I usually hate pictures of myself and I actually thought this one was good. Very cool!

Today there is a smaller article in the Bee. It was also great other than getting the name of the book wrong. It was kinda funny too because it was listed right next to the picture of the cover of the book LOL. People will see the name on the picture.

Monday was AM Buffalo, our local 10 AM TV station on ABC. It was only five minutes, but everyone says it was a great piece. It is the most popular footage on the station’s site right now. People say I didn’t look nervous, which really makes me laugh.

But the biggest excitement of all came about a half hour after the show aired on Monday. My dad called my cell phone. Now, you have to know my dad. He is the perfect German stoic. You know he loves you, but it would embarrass the heck out of him to say so. All my life people would tell me how proud he was of me because he couldn’t stop talking about me when they bumped into him. But to give a compliment to you verbally, face to face, would really be tough for him.

So I answered the phone. I truly expected to hear something like “I couldn’t really hear you very well” or something like that, because that’s just his way. I said “Hey Dad, did you see the show?” He said “Yes. That was really, really nice.” He then asked if we could get it on a dvd for him because he “would really like a copy of that.” I hung up and looked at Brigitte. Here come the tears again, this time for joy. I doubt I’ve ever felt prouder in my entire life.

Author: helpforhealing

Darcy Thiel, MA is a Licensed Mental Health Counselor in NY State. She earned her Master’s Degree in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College in Wheaton, IL. Ms. Thiel has been a couple and family therapist in West Seneca, New York since the mid-1990’s. Ms. Thiel is currently an adjunct professor at Medaille College in Buffalo, NY. She is also an accomplished speaker and presenter on various topics throughout the Western NY area. She is the proud author of Bitter and Sweet: A Family’s Journey with Cancer, the prequel to Life After Death, on This Side of Heaven. To learn more about Ms. Thiel and other exciting books from Baby Coop Publishing, LLC, visit her website at www.babycooppublishing.com or www.darcythiel.com Copyright Help for Healing by Darcy Thiel © 2012-2016. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Mounting Excitement

  1. That is so awesome. I can feel your excitement through the matrix! 🙂 And I’m not surprised your dad is proud, so proud he’s expressing directly! Thanks for sharing that touching moment.

  2. Of course your dad is proud of you! We’re so glad that he was able to express it…it’s the “magic” of your story, Darcy; it truly brings out the best in people! And you did look beautiful in the photo…because YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! 🙂

    ❤ L&N

Leave a Reply

